Maryland Marriage License, Maryland Wedding License, Maryland Wedding Laws, Maryland Marriage Laws, Maryland Marriage Records and Marriage Certificate
Maryland Marriage License Requirements & Info
You can apply for a marriage license at any Maryland county clerk office where you plan to be married. These offices are usually located in the county probate court or circuit court.
Please be prepared to provide identification in the form of a drivers license or birth certificate. Only one applicant need be present.
Cost of License
The cost of marriage licenses in Maryland is $35+ (cash only), depending upon county. Contact your local county clerk's office for exact fees (see below links for county contact information).
You do not have to be a resident of Maryland. However, you must be married in the county where you purchased your license.
There is a 48 hour waiting period from the application date to the date the license is issued. There is not a waiting period from the date the license is issued to the date allowed to marry.
You must be 18 years old or older to marry without parental consent. Applicants between 16-18 years of age, one parent or guardian must accompany you and provide written consent. Applicants under 16 years of age, will need both the written consent of a parent or guardian, and the written approval of a judge of the Orphans' Court Division of the Court of Common Pleas. If a parent can not be present, due to death, separation, divorce or other circumstances, proper evidence must be presented for verification. A minor who is pregnant does not need parental consent as long as the pregnancy is verified in a written statement by a licensed physician.
Blood Tests and Physical Exams
A blood test or physical exam is not required.
The license expires 6 months from the date of issue.
Divorced and Widowed Applicants
If previously married, the date of divorce or date of spouse's death must be provided. Bring a certified copy of the divorce decree or death certificate. A copy of your divorce records or spouse's death certificate can be ordered online.
Cousin marriages are allowed.
Common-law marriages are not considered legal.
Same-sex marriages are not allowed.
Copy of Marriage License
Additional copies of your marriage license can be attained at:
Maryland Division of Vital Records
Department of Health and Mental Hygiene
P.O. Box 68760
Baltimore, MD 21215-0020
Anne Arundel County
Prince Frederick, MD
La Plata, MD
Bel Air, MD
Ellicott City, MD
Prince Georges County
Upper Marlboro, MD
Queen Anne's County
Princess Anne, MD
St. Mary's County
Leonard Town, MD
Snow Hill, MD
PLANNING TIP #15
Provide icebreakers. Give your guests something to do besides watching you. Sparklers, noisemakers, a selection of temporary tattoos, all of these things help guests participate. More importantly, they give people something to talk about besides your drunk Uncle Bob. If kids are invited, set up a small table for them with crayons and paper, or provide a television in a side room where you can screen cartoons.
Page Description: Maryland Marriage License, Maryland Wedding License, Maryland Wedding Laws, Maryland Marriage Laws, Maryland Marriage Records and Marriage Certificate